You're Leaving When?
Adventures in Downward Mobility

annabelle-gurwitch_edited.jpg
You're Leaving When_edited.jpg

Annabelle Gurwitch

Thursday October 21  /  7 pm

Virtual at the J and at-home


"Annabelle Gurwitch’s You’re Leaving When? is a pure delight, full of ambivalence, regret, laughter, rage, melancholy, and most importantly, honest observations about grappling with life’s bewildering cavalcade of surprises and disappointments.”  

—Heather Havrilesky, New York Magazine


New York Times best-selling author Gurwitch is back with a coming-of-a-certain-age memoir about what it means to be part of the American middle class in steady decline. Home sharing with people experiencing homelessness, dating while gray, boomerang parenting, caring for aging parents, and eco-anxiety are just a few of the topics covered in this hilarious and honest collection of essays.

 

Gurwitch’s perspective on both the major and the mundane will be relatable to anyone. From parenting during the age of COVID-19 and Zoom meetings to living with anxiety to running out of gas on the way to celebrate family milestones, her stories are as personal as they are universal. The author is at her best when including a series of unsent letters to various people, including girlfriends, relatives, and even her mortgage company.

 

The latest from Gurwitch will have readers rolling with laughter one minute and picking up the phone to commiserate with friends or family the next. The author is a delightful eccentric aunt-to-all with her wit, caring, and wisdom. For fans of Nora Ephron and Dorothy Parker. 

ANNABELLE GURWITCH  (I See You Made and Effort; Tales of the Canned, Canceled, Downsized, & Dismissed) Those only familiar with Gurwitch’s tenure (1996-2002) on the TV show Dinner and a Movie will find that it only hinted at the Thurber Award nominee’s deceptively literate talents. Not just an accomplished actress, the author is also the author of five books, a contributor to NPR, and her essays and satire have appeared in the New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, the New Yorker, and the Los Angeles Times, Hadassah, among other publications. She will be visiting from Los Angeles.